And The Nominees For The Tommy Tune Awards Are...

Categories: Stage
TUTS annual Tommy Tune awards have become a highly anticipated event among high school drama clubs across the area.

Scholarships are awarded, two winners are chosen to go to New York to compete on a national level, and the kids get to perform at the Hobby Center on the night of the event. (This year it's April 20.)

TUTS' panel of judge reviewed 44 high school productions this year; here's the list of nominees:

Best Musical
Cinco Ranch High School, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Episcopal High School, The Drowsy Chaperone
Friendswood High School, Oklahoma!
Houston Christian High School, Thoroughly Modern Millie
Klein High School, Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
Pasadena Memorial High School, Thoroughly Modern Millie
St. Agnes Academy, Into the Woods
Stratford High School, Steel Pier
Best Leading Actor        
Cypress Falls High School: Kristopher Alvarado (Pseudolus) A Funny Thing..Forum      
Episcopal High School: Forest Surles (Robert Martin) The Drowsy Chaperone      
Klein High School: Tommy Waas (Lawrence Jameson) Dirty Rotten Scoundrels   
Klein High School: Anthony Al-Rifai (Freddy Benson) Dirty Rotten Scoundrels       
Memorial High School: Dino Nicandros (Julian Marsh) 42nd Street 
Spring Woods High School: Mark Frazier (Willy Wonka) Willy Wonka         
Stratford High School: Patrick Reilly (Bill Kelly) Steel Pier    
Westchester Academy: Justin West (Seymour) Little Shop of Horrors        
Woodlands High School: Keith Hale (Seymour) Little Shop of Horrors         
Best Leading Actress    
Cinco Ranch High School: Madeline Smith (Millie Dillmount) Thoroughly Modern Millie     
Episcopal High School: Stephanie Styles (Janet Van de Graff) The Drowsy Chaperone    
Houston Christian High School: Kelly Weaver (Millie Dillmount) Thoroughly Modern Millie 
HSPVA: Erin Cressy (Lily Byrne) A Man of No Importance  
John Cooper School:  Whitney Brandt (Mary Lennox) The Secret Garden  
Pasadena Memorial High School: Sandy Valles (Millie Dillmount) Thoroughly Modern Millie          
Sam Rayburn High School: Celeste Alvarez (Audrey) Little Shop of Horrors          
St. Agnes Academy: Mary Cate Stevenson (Witch) Into the Woods            
Stratford High School:  Lizzie Wild (Rita Racine) Steel Pier  
Best Supporting Actor   
Cinco Ranch High School: Chris Deyo (Trevor Graydon) Thoroughly Modern Millie           
Clear Springs High School: Jason Broussard (Scarecrow) The Wizard of Oz          
Cypress Fall High School: Robert Price (Hysterium) A Funny Thing..Forum        
Episcopal High School: Matthew Sells (Man in Chair) The Drowsy Chaperone       
Episcopal High School: Austin Arizpe (Adolfo) The Drowsy Chaperone      
Friendswood High School: Jeffrey Allison (Will Parker) Oklahoma! 
Klein High School: Nathan Spell (Andre Thibault) Dirty Rotten Scoundrels  
Sam Rayburn High School: Josue Montiel (Mushnik) Little Shop of Horrors
Stratford High School: Al Fallick  (Mick Hamilton) Steel Pier            
Best Supporting Actress           
Cinco Ranch High School: Victoria Valentine (Mrs. Meers) Thoroughly Modern Millie        
Episcopal High School: Mia Gerachis (Drowsy Chaperone) The Drowsy Chaperone         
Friendswood High School: Teagan Batts (Aunt Eller) Oklahoma!     
Friendswood High School: Lizzy Conger (Ado Annie) Oklahoma!    
John Cooper School: Emily Jacobson (Martha) The Secret Garden            
Pasadena Memorial High School: Allie Oakes (Miss Dorothy) Thoroughly Modern Millie    
Pasadena Memorial High School: Ashley Ward (Mrs. Meers) Thoroughly Modern Millie     
St. Agnes Academy: Emma Morris (Little Red Riding Hood) Into the Woods          
Stratford High School: Lauren Tennet (Shelby Stevens) Steel Pier  
Best Featured Performer         
Cinco Ranch High School: Nicholas Hunt (Ching Ho) Thoroughly Modern Millie     
Cypress Fall High School: (The Proteans) A Funny Thing...Forum            
Episcopal High School: Billy Cohen & Julian Outlaw (Ganster 1 & 2) The Drowsy Chaperone       
Friendswood High School:  Mason Conrad (Ali Hakim) Oklahoma!  
Houston Christian High School:  Andy Bair & Anthony Farfan (Ching Ho & Bun Foo) Thoroughly Modern Millie   
HSPVA: John Carter V (Baldy O'Shea) A Man of No Importance    
John Cooper School: Caitlin Lashier (Alice) The Secret Garden      
Kerr High School: Denny Dao (Mortimer) The Fantasticks  
Klein High School: Haley Brucker (Jolene Oakes) Dirty Rotten Scoundrels            
Stratford High School: John Karna (Buddy Becker) Steel Pier         
Stratford High School: Dorcas Leung (Precious McGuire) Steel Pier           
Texas City High School: Tyler Conti (Audrey II) Little Shop of Horrors        
Woodlands High School: Tyler Lewis (Audrey II) Little Shop of Horrors       

Sponsor Content

My Voice Nation Help

Now Trending

Houston Concert Tickets

From the Vault